St Cecilia logo

2017 Presidents Report

It is with pleasure that I present the President’s report for 2017, the year representing the 22nd year of St Cecilia Music Scholarships.


This year’s committee comprised the following members:

Chris Heazlewood (President & Secretary), Pam Larkin (Vice President), Wendy Black (Treasurer), Dave Harding, Richard Edwards, Caryl Haslem, Ian Duff, Lyndal Lassau and Marion Roubos-Bennett. In addition to the office bearers indicated above, Richard Edwards and Marion Roubos-Bennett contributed significantly to the publicity of the association and concert. Marion also accepted the opportunity to act as “archivist” for the association taking on this role from Maria de Rocco who retired from this role in 2017.

We also welcomed Henk Roubos as a member who with Maria de Rocco are our two members not on the Committee

We welcome any persons who wish to be members of the Association.

Maria de Rocco advised that she was needing to step away from involvement in the role of archivist. Maria maintains her passion for the St Cecilia Scholarships and will continue to support our work. Maria’s contribution was recognised at the 2017 Concert.

I wish to acknowledge the contribution of Caryl Haslem who has advised that she will not continue on the Committee this year. Caryl has previously been President and in recent years has supported the fund-raising activities of the Association. We thank her and wish her well.

Donations and grants

During the year we received significant grants from the Eurobodalla Shire Council ($2,500), Moruya CWA ($2000) and the Rotary Club of Batemans Bay ($1000). We also received a grant from the South Coast Music Society of $350 and $300 from PerfEx and associated persons.  We also received donations from a number of supporters totaling $1850. Grants and donations for the year totaled $8000 (Note the Finance Report for 2017 shows actual funds received in 2017 some of which related to the previous year’s program).  

In addition to this income we received $1091 as concert proceeds, $200 from Membership fees and $700 from audition entries.

We are grateful to the faithful individuals and organisation that support the St Cecilia scholarship program which enables us to provide annual awards totaling $6000 and tertiary scholarships to young musicians from the South Coast of NSW.


In 2017 the Association registered as a Charity by the Australian Charities and Not for Profit Commission. This registration means that the Association can included notification to donors and supporters that we are registered with the ACNC. We are required to submit a simple report annually to the ACNC.

We also joined the Association of  Eisteddfod Societies of Australia Inc which provides members with the APRA licence for our auditions and concert and also access to public liability insurance.

Award categories

This year the committee determined a new arrangement of awards which was designed to make the various categories of finalist clear. It was also decided to make awards for Contemporary and classical categories the same in each age group. The categories for 2017 were- Senior Classical, Senior Contemporary, Junior Classical and Junior Contemporary.


A total of 31 entries were received from 24 young people (10 males and 14 females)  in the Bega, Eurobodalla and Shoalhaven local government areas.


The 2017 Scholarship auditions were held on the weekend of 21/22 October at St Peter’s Anglican College with John Gilbert and Craig Woodland of Canberra Grammar school as adjudicators.

Performance Workshop

For the second year  a workshop was conducted for finalists by Merinda Anthill and Louise Hankinson. The workshop was conducted at St Bernard’s Church and participants enthusiastically participated in the various activities. The finalists developed confidence as a result of the workshop which was evident in their performances at the Concert.


The compere at the concert was Ian Duff.  Around 200 were in the audience and they enjoyed an hour’s worth of entertainment.  The presenters were Catherine Dale (ESC),  Pam Larkin (St Cecilia Committee), Henk Roubos (PerfEx), Julie Stuart, (South Coast Music Society), Maureen Manning, (President of the Batemans Bay Rotary Club), Annette Chapman, (President of the Moruya CWA).

Merinda Anthill and Louise Hankinson kindly offered to stage manage the concert which was greatly appreciated.

A presentation was made to Maria de Rocco who announced in 2017 that she needed to retire from involvement as archivist for the Association.

The concert commenced with a performance by Ayden Macdonald a former participant and recipient of a tertiary scholarship in 2017.

Regrettably two finalists were unable to attend the concert however a recording of their performances was played at the concert.

Awards made at the Concert were as follows:

Senior Classical
First:Luca ZiinoPiano
Second:Nikola KanizirViolin
Third:Luke BowenPiano
Senior Contemporary
First:Jack GallenGuitar
Second:Sylvie WilliamsVocal
Third:Molly BurrowsPiano
Junior Classical
First:Chantelle BennettViolin
Second:Dejan KanizirPiano
Third:Amelie ZiinoViolin
Junior Contemporary
First:Luke ShooksGuitar
Second:Stella Lloyd-JonesVocal
Third:Jessica MaherVocal

Attendees at the concert commented on the high standard of performance and the talent of the performers. We look forward to observing the future development of these young musicians some of whom are aspiring to become professional musicians in the future.


There are a number of organisations and individuals whose support made 2017 another successful year for the Association:

  • ABC South East for publicity
  • Ian Duff for compering concert
  • The Bay Post for affording us publicity
  • St Peter’s Anglican College
  • St Bernard’s Church and its staff
  • Marion Roubos Photography
  • Audition/Concert Accompanists- Jan Elias, Luca Ziino, Peter Rich, Ros Maher, Harry Hadley Our piano tuner Ron Keirs; Louise Hankinson and Merinda Anthill (Performance Workshop and concert stage management)
  • Our donors: Moruya CWA, Batemans Bay Rotary, Eurobodalla Shire Council, South Coast Music Society, PerFex and our personal donors. Our Trustees, Peter Kable, Di Edwards and Rafe de Crespigny (our patron);
  • Peter Rich for designing and printing the Scholarship Certificates
  • Maria de Rocco, our founder

Chris Heazlewood