12 October, 2023

St Cecilia Youth Music Scholarships Award Concert 2023

This year’s concert will be held on Sunday 19 November 2023 commencing at 2.00pm. The concert will feature all scholarship awardees for 2023.

Location: St Bernard’s Catholic Church, 2 David Avenue, Batehaven

Cost: Over 18, $10 (we do NOT have EFTPOS facilities so cash only). Persons 18 years and under FREE.

Come along and experience a concert featuring talented local young people.

10 August, 2023

Saint Cecilia Youth Music Scholarships Return For 2023

At the recent AGM of the St Cecilia Youth Music Scholarship’s Committee a new President, Jessica Farrell, was unanimously elected, as was a new Vice-President Zoe Gallagher-Avery. Both ladies were finalists and award winners at the St Cecilia Awards Concert from 2001 to 2009, Jessica playing the piano and flute and Zoe , the piano. The committee was very excited that they have now returned to lead us in running the Scholarships.

“I have many fond memories of my time with the Scholarships and am now very happy and enthusiastic to return and give back to the organisation that helped me so much”, said Jessica.

The Eurobodalla St Cecilia Youth Music Scholarship Association was formed back in 1995 by local resident Maria de Rocco to provide support, encouragement and financial support to local young musicians. Every year auditions are held, with an independent adjudicator, for students from 8 to 18 years of age. There are two age divisions in both classical and contemporary music and twelve scholarships are awarded ranging from $200 to $1000.

This year’s auditions will be held on 7/8 October. The Awards Concert will be held at St Bernards Church on Sunday 19 November…an event not to be missed.

The committee is very pleased to thank Batemans Bay Rotary for offering to assist our committee this year.

Further information will soon be provided on our website www.stcecilia.org.au

25 December, 2021

2021 Scholarship Awardees

Senior Classical Moruya CWA Jenny Rigby Award 1st Chantelle Bennett  Violin
Senior Classical  Maria deRocco Award 2ndDamia O’Loughlin  Clarinet
Senior Classical 3rdKalani Scognamiglio Treble Recorder
Senior Contemporary 1stSam Peate   Guitar and vocal
Senior Contemporary 2ndJoshua Vanzetti  Piano
Senior Contemporary 3rdDarcy Coppin  Vocal
Junior Classical Caryl Haslem Award 1stAmelie Ziino    Violin
Junior Classical 2ndAlyssa Gould  Violin
Junior Classical 3rdO’Shea Clohesy  Piano
Junior Contemporary  Marion Roubos Bennett Award 1stAmelie Ziino   Violin
Junior Contemporary 2ndMaxine Wilson  Piano
Junior Contemporary 3rdKaitlyn Lenihan  Vocal